18 ‘Ewas’ in Negros Occidental remain peaceful

May 3, 2022 by No Comments

THE 18 areas in Negros Occidental that have been tagged as Election Watchlist Areas (Ewas) remained peaceful five days prior to the national and local polls, the police said.These areas included the cities of Silay, Victorias, Escalante, Himamaylan, Kabankalan and Sipalay.Also in the list are the towns of Manapla, Toboso, Calatrava, Don Salvador Benedicto, Binalbagan, La Castellana, Isabela, Moises Padilla, Ilog, Cauayan, Candoni, and Hinoba-an.Negros Occidental Police Provincial Office (Nocppo) spokesperson Police Lieutenant Abegael Donasco said that ever since, when the campaign period for local candidates began, they have not noted any quarrels between rival political factions.Donasco said they will continue to monitor these areas to ensure that these remain peaceful, especially on election day.The 18 areas were earlier tagged as Ewas either due to intense political rivalry, presence of armed groups particularly communist insurgents, or both.