Lacson, Ferrer leading in NegOcc polls

May 11, 2022 by No Comments

NEGROS Occidental incumbents Governor Eugenio Jose Lacson and Vice Governor Jeffrey Ferrer are leading the race based on the partial and unofficial count from the Commission on Elections (Comelec) as of 10:30 last night, May 9.With almost 75.29 percent election returns counted, Lacson garnered an initial of 705,417 votes over his challengers former Bacolod Congressman Juan Orola who only had 44,917 and Ma. Socorro Sibulan with 12,162 votes.For the vice governor, Ferrer obtained 618,805 votes over his lone challenger Jonry Gargarita with 53,778 votes.Romel “Momoy” Debulgado and Araceli Samosa are unopposed as Board Members of the First District, the same with Sixto “Pal” Guanzon Jr. And Samson “Jongben” Mirhan in the Second District.Incumbent Third District Board Members Frederick “Manman” Ko and Andrew Montelibano are also leading the race with 117,279 and 100,539 votes, respectively.In the Fourth District, incumbent Board Member Joeben Alonso leads with 80,866 votes followed by Bago City Councilor Andrew Martin Torres who got 74,282 votes.Incumbent Fifth District Board Member Rita Gatuslao has the highest votes so far, with 61,868, followed by Anthony Dennis “Anton” Occeño with 48,616 votes.Incumbents Jeffrey Tubola and Valentino Miguel Alonso of Sixth District, who are also both unopposed, are assured of reelection for Board Members.For congressmen, Gerardo “Ginggo” Valmayor Jr., Alfredo Marañon III, Juliet Ferrer and Mercedes Alvarez, have no challengers in the First, Second, Fourth and Sixth Districts, respectively.Incumbent Representative Francisco Benitez of the Third District is leading with 173,057 votes similar to Dino Yulo in the Fifth District with 87,648 votes.Meanwhile, it will be an early victory celebration for 22 other candidates in Negros Occidental as they were also running unopposed.Records from the Comelec showed that Bago City Mayor Nicholas Yulo and Vice Mayor Ramon Torres are expected to be reelected to their respective posts.Mayor John Rey Tabujara and Vice Mayor Anna Liza Soriano of Cauayan town, and Ilog town Mayor John Paul Alvarez and his father, Vice Mayor Genaro Rafael Alvarez, are also assured of their wins.In Pontevedra town, Mayor Jose Maria Alonso and Vice Mayor Jimmy Gavan have no challengers the same as Mayor Narciso Javelosa and Vice Mayor Leo Rafael Cueva of Sagay City.Also unopposed are San Carlos City Mayor Renato Gustilo and Vice Mayor Christopher Carmona, Sipalay City Mayor Maria Gina Montilla Lizares and Vice Mayor Oscar Montila, Manapla town Mayor Manuel Escalante and Vice Mayor Edgard Pagayonan, Don Salvador Benedicto Mayor Marxlen Dela Cruz and Vice Mayor Nehemiah Dela Cruz, and Pulupandan Mayor Lorenzo “Enzo” Suatengco and Vice Mayor Miguel Antonio Peña.Other candidates who have no challengers are Mayor Marvin Malacon of E.B. Magalona town, and Vice Mayor Lilia Decolongon of Cadiz City. (With reports from Teresa D. Ellera)