Lacson, Ferrer, other NegOcc officials proclaimed

May 11, 2022 by No Comments

WITH a vote of 933,572, Negros Occidental Governor Eugenio Jose Lacson was reelected to his post and was proclaimed by the Commission on Elections (Comelec) yesterday, May 11, 2022.Lacson won over former Lone District of Bacolod Rep. Atty. Juan Orola who only garnered 57,701 and Ma. Socorro Sibulan with 16,534 votes.For the vice gubernatorial race, incumbent Vice Governor Jeffrey Ferrer emerged victorious with 816,938 votes over his lone challenger Jonry Gargarita who had 70,374 votes.Ferrer was also proclaimed by the Comelec yesterday.Lacson said the overwhelming votes he garnered in the recently concluded elections is a manifestation of the Negrenses’ approval of their performance during the first three years of his administration.”The unanimous votes of the Negrenses will serve as an inspiration and reminder to us to do better,” Lacson said as he expressed his gratitude to all those who supported him.For his part, Ferrer reaffirmed his support to the administration of Lacson, saying that “since the beginning I have said that I support the governor.”“We have a solid unity among the local officials (in the province),” the vice governor stressed.Following the win of Provincial Economic Consultant Alfredo “Albee” Benitez as the mayor of Bacolod, Lacson and Ferrer said that the people could expect more synergy between the province and the highly-urbanized city.Comelec Provincial Supervisor Roberto Salazar said that most of the elected officials who are incumbents were also proclaimed yesterday.These included Representatives Mercedez Alvarez-Lansang (Sixth District), Rep. Juliet Marie Ferrer (Fourth District), Gerardo Valmayor Jr. (First District), and Board Members Rita Gatuslao (Fifth District), Francis Frederick Ko (Third District), Rommel Debulgado and Araceli Somosa (First District), Jeffrey Tobola and Valentino Miguel Alonso (Sixth District), and Samson Mirhan (Second District), among others.