Some incumbents in Negros Occidental defeated

May 10, 2022 by No Comments

THERE seemed to be “surprise winners” in Negros Occidental after defeating incumbents, mostly belonging to major political clans, in the just-concluded national and local elections.In Kabankalan City, incumbent Kabankalan City Mayor Pedro Zayco Jr. was defeated by Benjie Miranda. They obtained 36,611 and 36,889 votes, respectively. Another incumbent, Vice Mayor Raul Rivera, was defeated by Migz Zayco.Rivera obtained 25,790 votes, while Zayco had 37,773.In Silay City, Vice Mayor Joedith Gallego led the mayorship after garnering 37,643 votes against 34,725 votes of incumbent Mayor Mark Andrew Arthur Golez, or a margin of 2,918.In the province’s Fifth District, former board member Emilio Yulo III was leading in the congressional race with 118,558 votes against incumbent Representative Ma. Lourdes “Marilou” Arroyo with 76,115 votes.Meanwhile, the Provincial Board of Canvassers chaired by Provincial Comelec Supervisor Roberto Salazar proclaimed Tuesday, May 10, Sagay City Mayor Alfredo MaraƱon III as congressman of Second District, as well as Board Members Samson Mirhan and Pal Guanzon of the same district.Also proclaimed winners are incumbent Third District Representative Jose Francisco Benitez, and reelectionists Board Members Francis Frederick Ko and Andrew Montelibano.Incumbent La Castellana Mayor RhumylaMangilimutan was also proclaimed winner.Reelectionist Governor Eugenio Jose Lacson garnered the highest votes among all local officials with 932,529 votes, while incumbent Vice Governor Jeffrey Ferrer got 816,100 votes.A close margin of only 10 votes made incumbent Mayor Jilson Tubillara to stay on his seat with 8,181 votes against his challenger Leo Delfinado with 8,172 votes.In Toboso, Madonna Jaojoco, who is the wife of outgoing Mayor Richard Jaojoco, garnered 17,486 votes against 8,562 votes of Dodong Valencia.In Himamaylan City, incumbent Mayor Raymund Tongson secured 38,796 votes against Board Member Tinto Bascon with 19,645 votes.In Murcia, incumbent Mayor Gerry Rojas also led the polls with 23,103 votes against his rival Ruel Villarosa with only 21,325 votes.In other localities, incumbent mayors and vice mayors were unopposed.Salazar said he met with the Philippine National Police and Armed Forces of the Philippines in the province.They made a general assessment that the election in the province was generally peaceful, he added.